A Poem from In a Dark Tower

A poem from my second collection of poems In a Dark Tower  by Clare Collins currently free on Kindle for the next five days.
I open my eyes…

I open my eyes

To another day,

Jet planes invade my senses,

Trains displace air

And plough

Relentlessly through time.

Afterwards,

After the senses

Have been brutalised

A stillness like a thick

blanket

Is only broken by

Various bird calls.

And I listen

Straining to hear

The air burning,

Burnt by the Rays

Of the morning sun,

Anything.

Behind the closed curtains

Where the light comes

It could be oblivion.

Leave a Reply

